top of page
  • Writer's pictureSharvaree Shirode

20th-24th November [ER]

Updated: Feb 5, 2018

1. Write down the similarities and differences in approach between the first week of this project and this week?

DIFFERENCES: This week I was optimistic to learn about the material, more than last week, because I wanted to try and get over my dislike for plastic as a material. Thankfully, there were many forms/types of plastic introduced during the first studio session that I did not know came under the 'plastic' spectrum.

Another difference is that this week however, I only managed to work with one material which was the foam core, as last week I used a variety of types of metals as well as techniques to produce my outcome. This perhaps won't have a big effect on my final outcome because the maquette looks well made. It's also quite complex looking so another type of plastic would've made the model look overloaded, as if I've tried too hard to make it look good, but managed to overwork it.

SIMILARITIES: What I tried to keep the same from last week was my time management. It was crucial that I did not steer away from what I learnt during Part One, as this could cost me my portfolio.

As well as this, I was enthusiastic to produce more than one model, sticking to a smooth transition between each model/material.

Both materials also try to incorporate the brief 'contains space' where the space is not enclosed all round, but an enclosed area. This makes giving new ideas a direction a lot simpler, because all outcomes are continuations/inspirations of each other, so there's a story that's told where the final outcome at the end of this project will make sense.


2. Identify overlapping themes, particularly in your personally directed work: are there connections between ideas, approaches to materials or attitudes that you have you used in both outcomes. If so, what are these? If not, what are the main differences?

I continued with the shape of the small wire structures I created towards the end of last week. Using foam core, I tried to replicate the shape by layering it one on top of the other, trying to create smooth transitions between each layer.

In terms of attitudes, I encouraged myself to stay proactive throughout the week. Using foam core was quite exciting because the material is quite clean to produce models with, giving the maquette a professional look. The maquettes are progressions of each other so the theme remains constant throughout. ~more about this in another blog post!~


3. Compare how you have used your time between this project and the last, and consider how you have managed the projects during these weeks, for example

a) planning and organisation.

There was not much planning in terms of I knew exactly what I was going to produce at the end of the week, but every time I had an idea, I tried to recreate it, even if it failed. Organisation was good this week, though I did slack when it came to my blog posts.

b) being open to different ideas and potential changes in direction.

I was quite optimistic with the material I used this week, foam core, and tried to exploit the material as much as I could. I was open to different ideas to the extent that they linked to the metal outcome. This made it quite hard to create models that were innovative but as there was no correlation to the previous model, I didn't make it. This was, in hindsight, a bad idea because these smaller ideas could've developed into something exciting...I will try to keep this in mind for next week's sessions.

c) exploring and evaluating different material possibilities.

I definitely know I have tried all possible ways to use foamboard to the extent that it almsot looks overused. However, this was the only material I exploited to its potential, and didn't use other materials for different models, which is a downside.

d) creating more complex or unexpected outcomes.

After the first model, I tried to challenge myself more but trying to create curves within a given space as well as creating something that relates to the first outcome during 'metal' week. This created unexpected outcomes because I changed the design as I progressed. ~more about this in another blog post

f) creating a better understanding of the different approaches to practice in each area.

g) presenting and/or explaining your ideas to others.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

END OF STAGE REVIEW

At the beginning of the 3D project, I was confident in my creative ability, but not so confident in my method of the creative process; I...

Comments


bottom of page