top of page
  • Writer's pictureSharvaree Shirode

END OF STAGE REVIEW

At the beginning of the 3D project, I was confident in my creative ability, but not so confident in my method of the creative process; I evaluated and reflected, but never applied this to my work. However, since starting the pathway, I have applied exactly what I have learnt to my work, as this helped me to identify my strengths and weaknesses. These identify what I have learnt throughout the course too.



Strengths


Model-making: When I started the project, I always used research to influence my designs. The likes of Zaha Hadid and Frank Lloyd Wright were always my inspiration, and the way I thought about architecture was influenced by their designs. This was not a bad thing, but I never discovered my own creative ability till I started using 3D and model-making as a tool to do so. I have become much more aware of space, materials and incorporated the use of light into the models for contextual purposes.


Creative ability: What I mean by this is my ability to be creative and original with researched ideas. I have learnt that sometimes the worst ideas can develop into something quite interesting. Though the links are not always obvious, I think I am quite good at being inspired by something I create (e.g. metal week models into wooden canopy) or something I've researched (method of vaulting) and produce a piece of work after it. I can identify parts of something that may not be so interesting and use that one aspect to make it interesting. The pathway has forced (for lack of a better word) me to think like this - take what is good and develop it further.


Research and context: I was always good at research; where/how to find it and apply it. However, the pathway has taught me to only take on board the aspect of my research that is useful to me/my brief. I have learnt what aspects are important to architects; shapes, light, shadows, location.


Creative process: Instead of producing work that is made to present, I am producing work that is beneficial to me as an architect would. For example, research on blog, highlighted bookmarked pages (online) and drawings on sheets as well as maquettes to experiment with shape.



Weaknesses


Development: This is one thing I have struggled with on the pathway. When I don't see a way to develop a material/design/shape/idea any further, I will do some research, become inspired and start a completely new project without intending to. For the Final Major Project (FMP) I will try to keep working in the current situ.


Sketchup: Though I am comfortable working with Sketchup, there is not much evidence of me working with it and really exploiting its features, and I will try to incorporate this into the FMP.


Evaluation and reflection: Though I do reflect and evaluate my work, it is not something I consider serious and don't take my own advice on board. In light of this, I have annotated my work as I go along, so it isn't necessary for me to do weekly evaluations, but I need to continue reflecting on my work.


Presenting myself: I have always been bad at presenting myself and my ideas. This is not stage-fright, I just cannot find the words to describe something even when I am quite interested in it, and passionate within it. During critiques, I find it hard to showcase what I have done, especially my thinking process and end up leaving the tutors and peers confused, when it actually makes total sense to me. This is something I hope to get better at for my FMP.



The pathway has allowed me to explore my strengths in much more depth than Stage 1. One thing that I have particularly liked about the course are resources that are available to us, and even though I haven't made full use of these (e.g. the workshop) I will try to for the final major project.



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page