top of page
  • Writer's pictureSharvaree Shirode

13-17th November [ER]

Updated: Nov 30, 2017

This week has been a handful to say the least.


1. How do you understand the rationale for the 3D Pathway?

Firstly, when we got introduced the brief, I was quite disappointed. 'A Rubbish Brief' - a brief all about using waste materials to create something which, either 'contained space' or 'fits to the body'. Each week we will be focusing on different materials; metal, plastic, and then wood. At the end of every week, a series of outcomes should be produced, incorporating these materials. I am not a fan of thinking imaginatively about waste materials that I've picked out of my bin to create something. It seemed quite childish and basic to me, as if I was back at Primary School doing Arts & Crafts.


I picked up the most interesting looking thing in my bin, a metal can of canned tomatoes. Most of the rubbish in there was made of plastic; packaging of thin and clear plastic, blister packs of tough plastic, bottles, plastic bags, crisp packets, cling film, shampoo/bleach/multi-purpose bottles, and the list goes on. This made me think about


However, when we started, properly, looking into the materials, and the different materials that come under the broad spectrum of metal, plastic and wood, I realised I was able to work with a lot more than I first anticipated.


2. What are your feelings about drawing?

My first impressions of the course changed during the second studio session, when we moved away from the experimental drawings. It's not that I cannot draw, it's more than I find it hard to 'experiment' with drawings. I can get abstract but will find it difficult to use it as a continuation. I then decided to do some mono-printing and exploit the features of metal as a material (light and shadows created from dents, for example), as technically, these come from drawing.


3. How have you made use of your studio time?

I tried to use as many techniques, staying away from drawing and focusing on 3D. I explored different types of metals; various mesh, metal wires of varying colours and thicknesses as well as the machines in the metal/3D room next door to the studio. ~More about this in another post!~


4. Which skills introduced during Part 1 of the course have been useful this week?

I definitely used my learnt time management skills during this week as many times I have fallen behind on a lot of work and had to rush the final outcomes, but I was not risking it for this project, as this work will most probably end up on my portfolio for university, so I wanted to give myself the best chance to produce the best work possible. From progression week, I learnt spot-welding, and this would've been a very useful skill this week. However, I wanted to get familiar with a range of techniques so that my final outcome at the end of this first part of the pathway, I can combine all these methods together.


5. Have you looked into any artist research to find new ways to approach your work?

Instead of artist research, I have researched into different types metal, how I can use different types of it, different methods to stick them etc. ~more on another blog post!~ This way, I was able to familiarise myself with the material, and exploit it to its full extent.


6. How have the practical and material elements of the work gone? (a) have you kept notes?

The practical and non-practical methods have both gone quite well this week, usually it is my practical work that's the strongest. However I think because we did experimental drawing at the start I was compelled to do mono-printing and made some interesting prints. However, I am usually a lot stronger with the 3D element of the project than the 2D drawings, so in the future, I reckon this is what will happen. I will try to incorporate drawings into my work, for example in my sketchbook; however, since this is 3D pathway, I don't think the drawings will be as crucial as they have been during the course so far.


7.What could you do better next week?

Next week, I will try and do a lot more research on the plastics/material that are taught to us win the studio sessions, as these have bi impacts on how you decide to use the material. for example, it will be a lot simpler to use foam card than foam core for a curve/smooth transition... a roof for example, curve feeling to the building. although it could still work with the slits in foam core, it will save a lot more time and will look a lot better with just foam card.




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

END OF STAGE REVIEW

At the beginning of the 3D project, I was confident in my creative ability, but not so confident in my method of the creative process; I...

Comentários


bottom of page